

National Advisory Council

Peter L. Buttenwieser

Owner, Peter L. Buttenwieser & Associates

David M. Crane

Professor of Practice, Syracuse University College of Law (2006 – Present) Founder, Syria Accountability Project (2011) Founder, Impunity Watch (2006) Chief Prosecutor, Special Court for Sierra Leone (2002-2005) Eclipse Award Recipient, 2014

Lorne Craner

Co-Director, Transatlantic Renewal Initiative (Present)
Board Member, Millennium Challenge Corporation (Present)
Assistant Secretary of State for Democracy, Human Rights and Labor (2001-2004)
President, International Republican Institute (1995-2001, 2004-2014)

Ambassador Paula J. Dobriansky, Ph.D.

Senior Fellow at the Future of Diplomacy Project at Harvard University JFK Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs (Present)

Senior Vice President and Global Head of Government and Regulatory Affairs, Thomson Reuters (2010-2012) Distinguished National Security Chair, U.S. Naval Academy

Under Secretary of State for Democracy and Global Affairs (2001-2009)

President's Special Envoy to Northern Ireland (2007)

Senior Vice President and Director of the Washington Office of the Council on Foreign Relations (1997-2001)

Dr. David P. Gushee

Distinguished University Professor of Christian Ethics

Director, Center for Theology and Public Life, Mercer University

Principal drafter: Evangelical Declaration Against Torture (2007)

Co-drafter: Declaration of Principles for a Presidential Executive Order on Prisoner Treatment, Torture and Cruelty (2007)

Roger Hale

Chief Executive Officer (retired), Tennant Company (1976-1999)

Board Member, Ploughshares Fund (1999-2013); Board Chair (2006-2013)

Board Member, five NYSE companies and numerous non-profit organizations

Charles Henry

Professor Emeritus of African American Studies, University of California at Berkeley (Present) Member, National Council on the Humanities (1994-2000)

U.S. Department of State, Bureau for Democracy, Human Rights and Labor (1994-1995)

President, National Council for Black Studies (1993-1995)

Chair, Board of Directors, Amnesty International U.S.A. (1986-1988)

Wade Horn, Ph.D.

Director, Public Sector Practice, Deloitte (Present)

Assistant Secretary, Administration for Children and Families, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (2001-2007)

Al Kaneb

Chairman and CEO, Barnstable Broadcasting Trustee Emeritus, Cornell University Governing Board Member, Partners in Health

Kerry Kennedy

President of Robert F. Kennedy Center for Human Rights (Present) Honorary President of the Robert F. Kennedy Foundation of Europe (Present) Former Co-Chair of Amnesty International's Leadership Council

Mark P. Lagon, Ph.D

President, Freedom House (Present)

Chair for Global Politics and Security, MSFS Program, Georgetown University (2010-2014)

Executive Director and CEO, Polaris Project (2009-2010)

Ambassador, Office to Monitor and Combat Trafficking in Persons, U.S. Department of State (2007-2009)

Deputy Assistant Secretary of State for International Organization Affairs (2004-2007)

Whitney Burnett Macleod

Senior Advisor for Strategic and Financial Planning and Development, National Foundation for Facial Reconstruction/MyFace (Present)

Development Director, Harlem School of the Arts (1996-1999)

Development Director, Women's Project & Productions (1994-1996)

President, Women's SITE Board (Self Improvement Through Education), Madison Square Boys & Girls Club (1988-1992)

Principal Casting Director, ABC and NBC (1980-1988)

The Honorable Walter Mondale

Former United States Ambassador to Japan (1993-1996)

Former Vice President of the United States (1977-1981)

Former United States Senator from Minnesota (1964-1976)

Alberto Mora

Senior Fellow, Carr Center for Human Rights Policy, Harvard Kennedy School (2014 – Present)

Vice President, Secretary and General Counsel, Mars Corporation (2008-2013)

Chief Counsel, Wal-Mart international division (2006-2008)

General Counsel of the United States Navy (2001-2006)

Recipient, John F. Kennedy Profile in Courage Award (2006)

Fionnuala D. Ni Aolain

Dorsey & Whitney Chair in Law, University of Minnesota Law School

Co-founder and Associate Director, University of Ulster Transitional Justice Institute

Diane Orentlicher

Professor of International Law, American University (Present)

Deputy for War Crimes Issues, U.S. Department of State (2009-2011)

United Nations Independent Expert on Combating Impunity

Special Advisor to the High Commissioner on National Minorities of the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe

Regan E. Ralph

Executive Director, Fund for Global Human Rights (Present)
Vice President for Health and Reproductive Rights, National Women's Law Center
Women's Rights Division, Human Rights Watch (1992-2001)

Mark Ritchie

Minnesota Secretary of State (2007-2015)

President, Institute for Agriculture and Trade Policy (1986-2006)

Mary Ann Stein

President, The Moriah Fund Founding Chair, Fund for Global Human Rights Member, Human Rights First Board of Advocates

William H Taft IV

Attorney at Law, Fried Frank (Present)
Legal Advisor of the State Department (2001-2005)
Permanent Representative to NATO (1989-1992)
Deputy Secretary of Defense (1984-1989)
General Counsel of the Department of Defense (1981-1984)

David S. Weissbrodt

Professor of Law, University of Minnesota (1985 – Present)

Founding Board Member, Center for Victims of Torture (1985); Board Member (1985-2009, Emeritus 2014) Member of the Board of Trustees of the U.N. Trust Fund for Contemporary Forms of Slavery (2005 – present); Chairperson (2008)

U.N. Special Rapporteur on the Rights of Non-Citizens (2000-2003)

Member, U.N. Sub-Commission on the Promotion and Protection of Human Rights (1996-2003); Chairperson (2001-2002)

Dr. James Zogby

Founder and President, American Arab Institute
Managing Director, Zogby Research Services, LLC
Executive Committee of the Democratic National Committee

AGREED TO SERVE AT A FUTURE TIME

Ellen Dorsey

Executive Director, Wallace Global Fund (2008 – Present) Board Member, U.S. Human Rights Network (2011-2014) Senior Program Officer, Heinz Endowments (2003-2008)

Board Member, Amnesty International USA (2005-2008)

Juan E. Méndez

UN Special Rapporteur on Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman and Degrading Treatment or Punishment (2010 - Present)

Co-Chair, International Bar Association Human Rights Institute (2010-2011)

United Nations Secretary-General's Special Adviser on the Prevention of Genocide (2004-2007)

CVT BOARD LIAISON TO THE NATIONAL ADVISORY COUNCIL

Eric Schwartz

Dean, Humphrey School of Public Affairs (2011 – Present)
Assistant Secretary of State for Population, Refugees and Migration (2009-2012)
Executive Director, Connect U.S. Fund (2007-2009)
Deputy Special Envoy for Tsunami Recovery (2005-2007)
Office of the U.N. High Commissioner for Human Rights (2003-2005)